BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

Port of Vancouver questions

2K views 20 replies 11 participants last post by  krusin_ 
#1 ·
I am continually amazed by the intelligence of some people on this site, so I have some more questions. I am buying a 400cc bike from New Zealand, but I don't know where to tell him to ship it...If I just say Vancouver will his shipping company understand which port? Also, where would I pick it up? It will come in a container, but do I have to unload it myself? Do I have to have a trucking company get the container itself or can I leave it at the port somewhere. (forgive my idiocy, but I have zero experience with port activity) I plan on brokering it myself as I have all my ducks in a row for that but this port shipping and receiving has me all baffled again. I need someone who has imported something like this to point me in the right direction.
thanks
K

#5 ·
I had hoped that I could personally pick up the crated bike myself, but I don't understand what you mean by contact the company for info...contact his shipping company? Contact the Van Port Authority? I feel stupid, but I seem to need step by step instructions (like how you would tell a simpleton)

All you have to do is to make arrangements with a bonded freight company. It could be anywhere, port, airport, warehouse.
So find a company and get all the info from them and provide it to your seller.

A bonded company will hold the bike until it clears customs.
Do you know if I need a freight company? Is it mandatory? Do you have any idea what they cost? I want to just drive my truck down and pick it up if I can. If I can't, can you recommend a freight company?

#4 ·
All you have to do is to make arrangements with a bonded freight company. It could be anywhere, port, airport, warehouse.
So find a company and get all the info from them and provide it to your seller.

A bonded company will hold the bike until it clears customs.

#6 ·