Dirt Bike Advice

Thread: Dirt Bike Advice

Registered User Array
    Bike
    '05 FZ6

Dirt Bike Advice

After about a 10 year break from dirt and trials riding, I'm looking at getting back into it so as humbling as it is, I'd say I'm a beginner at this point. A family friend has a line on two bikes that would be a good deal, but not sure if they'd be the right fit. Anyone have any thoughts on these, or other suggestions I may consider? (I am looking for a decent trail bike that can give me a little air time here and there. I'm 6'1 and 200lbs.)

Honda CRF230F
    Yamaha TTR230

Happy New Years!

2. Remove Advertisements
    BCSportBikes.com
    Advertisements

Bike
    A black one
    DRZ400E if you just want a dirt bike or an S model if you want a dual purpose. Its a much better bike than either of those two. More power, better suspension, better components, a lot more aftermarket parts available for it and it responds very well to performance mods when you want to go that route.
    If you`ve allready got riding experience all those long lost skills will come back to you quickly and I think you`ll get tired of the other two bikes pretty quick, they`re decent bikes but theres not much to them.
    Last edited by arcrz; 01-01-2010 at 12:47 PM.
    Hug a two stroke....you`ll never go back to trees.

Bike
    2004 CRF450
    You're too big and heavy for either of those bikes. Sure they'll haul your ass around, but you have some experience and will outgrow them very quickly.

The DRZ is a very good choice. I would add an XR400 or an older 125 two stroke to your list to check out.

Registered User Array
    Bike
    '05 FZ6
    Appreciate the quick feedback guys. Basically confirms what I thought in that I'd quickly outgrow these bikes. Now back to the classifieds....

Cheers

Registered User Array stinkyfast's Avatar
    Bike
    CT70