What would you do? (New bike considerations)

Thread: What would you do? (New bike considerations)

Registered User Array Boondock Saint's Avatar
    2006 Honda CB 599

What would you do? (New bike considerations)

Hi All,

I wasn't sure what forum to put this in, so I figured this would be as good as any...

I started riding in 2006, and my first bike was (is) a Yamaha TW-200. It's a great around town bike, cheap gas & insurance, easy to maintain by myself (especially important when you're a student), and is somewhat unique.

Last year, I picked up a project bike - a 1975 CB 550F. I love the look of the older CB series - though generally the earlier models - spoked wheels, no fairings, etc. I'm not really a cafe racer guy, but lower bars and upgrades (mainly, an electronic ignition) to make the bike more reliable were planned. My plan was to have the TW as a town bike, and see how the 550F fared, then make a judgement call as to which one to go with. However, the thought of frequently (not necessarily daily) riding something that's 9 years older than I am is...intimidating. Not for the maintenance etc. required (I'm a fan of turning my own wrench) but for the parts availability - the 4-1 exhaust on the CB was rotted off, but fortunately a guy in Washington had one...I got it, a seat, and some other bits for $500USD which is a STEAL for that many hens' teeth.

However, I graduated this past May, and am working full-time for a decent wage in my field - a rarity these days, it seems. I've always longed for an I4 sportbike, top of my list being a 98ish GSXR 600/750, both for the styling (don't know how/why), and the fuel injection. Monster 620 Darks have also appealed to me, and then I realised that a similar style could be had, in I4 form, with Honda reliability, as a 599.