What's a good first bike?

Thread: What's a good first bike?

What's a good first bike?

Hey Everyone!!!

I'm a new member to this site and I'm also a newbie rider. I was wondering what would be a great starter bike for a chickie rider like myself...

Also I would appreciate some tips on what to look for when getting a bike.. Thanks !!

2. Remove Advertisements

Get a 2003 GSXR 1000 , they have great handling and good acceleration

or get a 2002 R1 if you wanna get chicks and go fast... Muhaha

97 Blade
    Use the search function.
    Type in something like "best beginner bike" or "good learning bike"

edit: BTW..... welcome
    Last edited by Double R; 04-05-2003 at 07:27 AM.
    Ass, Gas, or Grass. Nobody rides for free.

Registered User Array BLUEBALLS's Avatar
    The Couch, a.k.a. "Pipe & Slippers"

1st bike

Depends on what you want most. Cruiser, Standard, Sport.

Also depends on your height, strength and dexterity.

1st bike I recommend anything less than 500cc. Don't let anyone try to fool you with simple lines like "Oh, you'll out grow it way too fast", "Oh, don't get anything less than a 600cc sportbike or you're wasting your money", or "you'll never be able to sell that thing when you want to move up". All crap. Learn how to RIDE a bike, how a bike OPERATES, and what you can expect from your own physical inputs before you worry about moving up.

Some good starter sport styled bikes are the ZZR250 (ninja 250) from Kawasaki, and the older VTR250 from Honda. If you're looking for something used [which is smarter because there is a darn good chance you'll fall over a couple of times while learning to ride slow with control] there are tonnes of choices reaching back as far as the 70's.

If you have experience from a trail bike, maybe check out a Suzuki GS500 or Kawasaki EX500 before you try the "latest & greatest" bikes out there. Good luck and welcome to the sport.

Shit happens. Ya gotta deal with it as best you can under your own terms.