Insurance Question: Declared Value

Thread: Insurance Question: Declared Value

omg, i'm a noob! Array motobert's Avatar

Insurance Question: Declared Value

If I am getting Megson Fitzpatrick optional coverage for collision and comprehensive, do I even need a declared value for buying the basic from ICBC? Isn't Declared Value useful only for collision/comprehensive?

If you do have declared value on your ICBC insurance, does your ICBC declared value match your private company's declared value? I'm asking this because Megson Fitzpatrick cover's more stuff like accessories and gear.

On a side note, I'm 6 days away from 10 years driving ....
    :: easy peesy lemon squeezy ::

2. Remove Advertisements

On the river.
    My what?
    If they are asking you to declare a value, do it. Otherwise if (god forbid, but) someone hits you, you have already told them what you would need to replace your bike. Just make sure you declare fair market value and include the taxes (roughly) in your declaration. That's what I did, and they gave me my declared value, no questions asked. As for matching values, ask your M.F. agent if you should include your gear in your bikes value of if they insure it separately. If it is separate, it's best to keep all your values the same. The two companies may have to talk to each other one day about your bike. good luck
    I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.

A couple of Suzukis
    ICBC won't need a declared value if you're only buying basic coverage through them. They may ask you for can tell them...but it won't make any sort of difference, AFAIK. I only have basic coverage on my 250, and the girl at the counter said she didn't need the declared value if I didn't buy any additional coverage. Not like the bike is worth anything anyways.
    Maybe Mediocre
    BCSB - I hate you

2005 FZ6
    With MF and your declared value keep two things in mind...