How did you pilots pay for your training?

Thread: How did you pilots pay for your training?

BMW meet Buster Array katana1150's Avatar
    east and south of portmann
    98 tiller

How did you pilots pay for your training?

Just wondering how some of you who fly managed to pay for your ppl or your comercial licence?

good christ it is not cheap to learn how to fly....ground school is nothing much but man the rental of the plane is astounding. Not to mention the cost of owning and maintining a airplane these days. My father owned 2 back in the 70's, I have no idea how he managed to fly and maint. a single and a twin. He wasn't rich or anything.

I have been looking into the prices of aircraft lately and there is nothing much under $50,000 US

I was thinking that it would be better to learn in something a little larger than a C-150/152. Maybe more like a 172 or even a 182. I have some experience in a C-182 that my father used to own but I haven't been up in a small plane in nearly 20 years

I was also wondering, once I have a ppl then how difficult is it to get a multi engine rating?

You see I plan on winning one of these damn lotteries soon and then I can afford to own a plane
    Last edited by katana1150; 07-24-2003 at 06:01 AM.
    A religious war is simply a battle to see who has the best imaginary friend
    Laws without consequences are simply suggestions
    I drive a Dodge Ram3500 Dually, Go ahead and cut me off with your pretty little Audi or BMW! if we connect...........I WIN!

Langley, BC
    None right now...
    Learn to fly in a 152 if you and the instructor both fit. The transition to larger Cessnas is trivial, but the cost of rental will be a hell of a lot cheaper.