A Beginner's question-please help

Thread: A Beginner's question-please help

k2square

A Beginner's question-please help

Hi~!

I'm new to this forum. Also, I'm just a beginner, and planning to buy a new bike.

1) I really like the look of the 600's bike, but I've heard some saying that 600 is too big for beginners.........but some said it's up to the person. Can someone give me some suggestion?

2)For a beginning rider(17yrs old), about how much would insurance cost for me(for example, a Ninja250R, and a 600class)?

Thanks for the help~!

2. Remove Advertisements
    BCSportBikes.com
    Advertisements

Bike
    I wish.
    Do a search for new rider or beginner .. you'll find a large discussion on them.

But to quickly answer your question: Do you want to drop a brand new shiny bike? Or even one that isn't so shiny? Probably not. And the chances say that you probably will.

I'd recommend a $2-3k starter bike (or less), just make sure it's running.. then turn around and sell it and get that 600 when you feel your ready.
    BCSB- Administrator

Bike
    Nothing Right Now
    Whatever you do, DON'T buy a brand new bike. Like what adamantium said, chances are you are gonna drop it. It's a process of learning how to ride... (well, not everyone drop their bikes but a mass majority do) just like when you learn how to walk.
    You are born. And you die. And if you are very lucky in between you get to ride motorcycles!

Bike
    04 Kawi Z1000,
    WELCOME ABOARD

If you can spare the bucks you could start with an older 600 and just take a chance with the plastic. I'm amazed at how good a bike my F2 from 1992 is.

But just be aware that ANY of the 600's from the old late 80's Hurricane and up to now is like carrying a loaded gun with the safety off. They are smooth and easy to ride as long as you respect them but crank it at the wrong time and it's like looking down the barrel with a nervous finger on the trigger. Yes, they ARE that fast.