Noob Qs... dropped bike, big drop in value?

Thread: Noob Qs... dropped bike, big drop in value?

02 GSXR 600... SOLD

Noob Qs... dropped bike, big drop in value?

First of all I have to say that I am a complete newbie to riding. I just got my class 6 road test done last week. As of now I am still jobless, hence bikeless.

I have been looking at lots of ads for used bikes. And many would say "Never dropped", in order to show its pristine condition (and often with a price just as exotic). Would someone tell me how much does a minor drop affect the value of a bike? Let's say the bike was dropped at about 20km/h and there are scratches to the fairing (but no cracks), would it cause its value to drop significantly? So let's say a newer model CBR600, which has never been dropped, is selling for $7500, then a day later that bike was accidentally dropped, causing one fairing to be scratched, what would be a reasonable price for it then?

What do i need to watch out for when buying a bike that has had a minor drop?

Thanks for all your help in advance!

2. Remove Advertisements

Langley, BC
    None right now...
    For your example, I would say you could subtract the cost of an equivalent fairing from the $7500. If the bike is "as new", then subtract the cost of an "as new" fairing. That would be a starting point, of course.