Drag Races - How to?

Thread: Drag Races - How to?

Talking Drag Races - How to?

The town where I live is having open drag races in August. A lot of people around here say that I should enter my bike. I would like to but to be honest I don't know how to drag race. I can ride fast and love the twisties but how do you go from a dead stop to nothing but power down the track. I was hoping that some of you might be able to shed some light on this for me.

2. Remove Advertisements

Practice, practice, practice!

I'm no expert but here are my thoughts for what they are worth.

The biggest challenge in drag racing a bike with as much power as yours is getting a decent launch with out looping it. I imagine you would have to climb up on to the tank (keep your weight as far forward as possible) & slip the clutch for most of first gear and be careful with the 1-2 shift.

Professionals get into the nines on your bike and even taking it easy in the first couple of gears should net you mid 11's and bragging rights over alot of the cars.

I went last year and am going again this year and was thinking of running my bike as well. If the weather and turn out anything like last year there will be thousnads of people there to watch you spank a lot of the cars.

I will be home by next week end, let's hook up and you can practice while I watch you try to tame that beast.

Chancellor of Horsepower Array
    Lots of throttle and careful slipping of the clutch! Actually, I find launches on the 1k to be the quickest if you rev the engine to no more than 8,000 and then engage the clutch. Once the clutch is out, then full throttle can be applied. I find that holding the bike near redline while standing still induces too much wheelspin / wheelie as the clutch is engaged. Also, be sure to warm-up your rear tire before doing a run -- as I'm sure you already know, the 1k will spin cold tires like nobody's business.

'96 CBR 600 f3 Smokin Joe replica and a '92 f2 track bike