Help with paint job

Thread: Help with paint job

I'm hungry... Array tackle_me_2's Avatar
    BMW F800ST

Question Help with paint job

I got some plastic primer and some paint (spray bomb) to paint my fairings. So I sanded everything down, filled in the scratches, and sanded again. Washed the fairings, let it dry, and I thought it'd be a breeze from here on.

So I lean the fairing on the inside wall of a cardboard box, thinking that way it'll be easy to clean up afterwards, and I didn't have to protect the patio floor. [BTW, this is my first time doing something like this.] As I spray the 1st coat of primer, I was sucking in the fumes (no, no mask) and feeling high...and now a little light headed.

The more important question is, (see pics below), what is this? Is this "orange peel"? What did I do wrong, and how do I save this now? Can somebody please help me?
    Last edited by tackle_me_2; 11-11-2004 at 04:02 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements

First don't use cheap primer or paint the reason you got the finish you did could be because the primer was crap or you didn't shake the can enough.Or he surface you were about to prime had wax, oil or grease on it. You should use a wax/grease remover to clean before sanding. You can sand down what you have now and make it smooth and you should be able to prime it with no problem. Now when you paint it try to get a can with a wide spray pattern and don't stop start on your work. Also keep the paint wet while you work to avoid stripes. It's best to do medium or thin coats of paint rather then thick ones. Let the paint tack up before you spray the next coat. Good Luck

Rhubarbed.....RIP GPZ
    If you are doing it outside (patio) it may be to cold so the paint won't take. Most spray paint recommend room temperature or 21+ degrees. Another thing is if the primer is designed for plastics or fiber glass. Not to familiar with your product. Good luck.
    A bad day of riding is, still better than a good day of work.

tiz Red.