College Student: BIKE VS. CAR????
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: College Student: BIKE VS. CAR????

Question College Student: BIKE VS. CAR????

hey everyone,

I'm new, and want to get into biking. I'm planning on taking the course at pro ride in a couple of months, and then going from there.

I'm a college student and need a cheap way of transportation (buses don't run until 4 in the morning in most places)...

Should I go for a bike or a car?
    I'm looking for cheap gas, cheap insurance, but something that's still fun to drive...

I know getting a car would cost me about 3 grand, and insurance is another 2500 a year...and gas will be about 50-150 a month...

How much would a bike be in comparison to that? (something like a 400cc...FZR 400???)

Also, I want to be able to drive in the rain and harsh that easy to do on a bike with the proper gear?

2. Remove Advertisements

Smooth as Sandpaper. Array Brain's Avatar
    '03 SV650s
    If you're looking for cheap insurance, I would strongly reccomend the car over the bike.
    Its true, you do save a bit on gas over a car, but insurance and maintenance more than negates those savings.
    As for riding in rain/cold, its definately doable, but it will not be pleasant. Plus you are more likely to drop your bike on wet pavement.
    If you are asking bike vs car, I would have to say a car would fit your needs better, but definately look to invest in a bike when you know you can afford it, because it is worth it.
    Complimentary Brainwashing and detailing.

In hell
    Big and slow
    I'd say car as well. For the crap you have to transport back and forth to school it's just easier. Riding is not cheap no matter how you look at it. More fun definitely, but not cheap.

Old Dirty Bastard Array masonjarz's Avatar
    White Rock
    2008 Honda XR650L

Our shittiest weather is during part of the academic year... like now!

Cheaper than a buss pass

rain? whats that! Array REVELATIONS's Avatar
    SV 1000s