Newbie here

Thread: Newbie here

Registered User Array
    DT Van
    ARRR 6

Newbie here

I registered today. I currently live in Seattle as UW student. I am graduating this june and moving to Vancouver. I ride 05 R6 and hope to ride with you guys soon.
    Anyone have an experience bringing a US bike to Canada?
    I heard I would have to pay tax on my bike once more at the border.
    I was going to sell my bike here and buying a new one after the move, but... I see that Canada MSRP is more expensive than US after the $ conversion.

Also, is ICBC the only insurance company? I have state farm insurance here and I pay $28 per month for full coverage. In state of WA, insurance is optional.. I don't know how things are in Canada... so if someone could comment on it, it will be great.

Lastly, I took Motorcycle safety course in US and have endorsement. Anyone know if I would have to take a test or course again?

I am sorry I have so many questions.

2. Remove Advertisements

Out to pasture in the 'Wack
    04 Kawi Z1000,
    I think the tax only applies to imported vehicles if you live in Canada and want to bring in a bike. As part of your personal possesions due to having lived for your time in the US I believe you'll be allowed. But it depends on your time in residence down there. Best to check with Canada Customs.

If it shows on your license as a motorcycle rated rider then they should accept that.

A backyard mechanic without a service manual is just like a hooker without a lamp pole.... they are both in the dark.

Registered User Array ReelExterminato's Avatar
    It also depends on how long you've held a license. In BC, we have a graduated licensing program that takes a minimum of 24 months to complete. If you can show proof that you've held a license for longer than that, it'll be a breeze to get it switched to a BC license.