F2 chain size?

Thread: F2 chain size?

Bike
    Black F2, 01 GSXR 600 - Race

F2 chain size?

OK, I'm kind of new to the whole chain thing! so teach me some stuff, would ya!

- Is there a way to tell if your chain is an O or X ring?
    - Is there a way to tell if it's a 520 or a 530 Chain?
    - most chains come in a 120 link format is that normal? Do you usually have to cut the chain down to fit?

I'm not sure on my rear sprocket size.. will this make a difference in chain length? (im betting yes..) (I'll count later)

- What is a good chain company to go with?

- How often do you have to replace the front/rear sprocket? ( I know you look for ware... but, around how many kms will a rear sprocket last on a older 600?)

Thanks for anyhelp you can give!

Damn chain bit the dust today!

Maybe i'll get a nice green one or something!
    hehe, ok, bye
    Lets Jump

2. Remove Advertisements
    BCSportBikes.com
    Advertisements

Jackie Chan's stuntdouble Array Motorcycle Man's Avatar
    Bike
    CBR600 F4
    O vs X ring: you can't tell just by looking
    520 vs 530: 520 chain has 2/8" wide rollers, 530 has 3/8" wide
    cutting chain: yes, you normally have to cut it
    sprocket size: yes, larger sprockets need longer chains
    brand: is usually not significant
    sprocket life: depends on maintenance and type, you should be able to get more than 35,000 km

doug
    your rear sprocket should be marked in some way as to size and teeth. should say something like 530-43 or 45/520.

Bike
    04 Kawi Z1000,
    Quotes from the original post are printed in green below because I own a Kawasaki and it pleases me to flaunt this fact........

- Is there a way to tell if your chain is an O or X ring?No. It doesn't matter anyway. Just buy anything with rings in it.

- Is there a way to tell if it's a 520 or a 530 Chain?