New to the bike scene

Thread: New to the bike scene

New to the bike scene

I'm new to the bike scene and want to learn more about diff mods and stuff for bikes.

I already know about the basic stuff like SS brake lines, exhausts, suspension and stuff.

What are some KEY mods that will help your bike all around. Performance, handling and such....

2. Remove Advertisements

builder of bikes Array cosworth's Avatar
    The Island
    Get the suspension set up by Bomax. Get some good pads on the front. I personally like high tech stuff like gear indicators, enginr management etc.

Gearing can be played with quite a bit too.

Out to pasture in the 'Wack
    04 Kawi Z1000,
    Any of the bikes from the last 10 years are so good that there's really nothing you NEED to do. If you buy used then I'd have a good mechanic like BOMAX or the guys from Imperial look it over really well and perhaps have a more knowledgable fellow from the board here ride it for a while and suggest any changes. (I'm available pretty much any time it's not raining....... )

Some bikes can benifit from brake lines and better pads and others could use a better set of fork springs (my F2 track toy for example). Others just need a little bit of suspension setting up (my old 98 ZX9R). But bear in mind that anything you do is just polishing a diamond. Any of them are better at this than either you or I are.

In any even the best thing you can do at this point is take a course and sit on a lot of bikes to see which fits you the best. There's usually one out of the mainstream that's just that little bit different that says "I'm the one". But they are all so nice it's more a question of "blonde, brunette or redhead fitted to the same body".

Mind you I'm assuming from your info box that you are new to riding.........