coolant leak problem on Chevy van. help please

Thread: coolant leak problem on Chevy van. help please

Registered User Array Jester666's Avatar
    Bike
    1966 Honda Dream305 1976 Honda CB550

coolant leak problem on Chevy van. help please

Hi
    I've noticed a couple of drops of coolant on the ground every time I park my work van.
    for the longest time I couldn't figure it out, but now I've looked at it just after parking the van when it was still hot, and I think I got it.
    It seems like the leak is on the freeze plug.

My question is: has anybody ever changed them? What's the procedure, how hard is it?
    I know there are aftermarket brass freeze plug kits that are supposed to be really good, but I've never done it before, so help is most appreciated.
    cheers & happy new year all!

Yup, bin' on a holiday... Array SkipTkt's Avatar
    Bike
    1 Honda, 1 Suzuki, 1 Yamaha.
    My 2kms: the job isn't too elaborate (pull & replace plug) but it get's fn messy and tedious unless you have small hands and the patience of a saint. You'll also need -to do it right- a blow torch to heat up the area just a bit to properly sink the new plug. Go to Lordco for the kit (got 'm for most engines) and drop the van off at a proper 'old school' auto repair shop. I'd suggest Gord's on Great Northern Way (next to Lordco) or Tremblay Motors on W. 2nd (across from Carter's Granville Island). It's only 1 hr labor (maybe 1.5 if there's a lot of corrosion) done by someone who knows what they're doing.... or an all-day adventure for a first-timer. Call me lazy...
    It's not the number of breaths you take but the moments that leave you breathless.

Bike
    Quote Originally Posted by SkipTkt