Taxes: used bike from private seller
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Taxes: used bike from private seller

Bike
    2006 R1-SP,2003 CBR 600rr, Santa Cruz V10

Question Taxes: used bike from private seller

I am new in BC and I just decided to buy a used sportbike (2003 model) from a private seller.

What is the real truth about taxes? Some people say there is no need to pay taxes on this kind of deal, others say that I have to pay taxes in order to get insurance.

Any advice to safe a couple bucks? I am not looking for something illegal and also I am not interested to bring the seller in trouble.

Second question is about insurance. What is the best (cheapest way) to get insurance?
    Does it matter where I go and with whom I am dealing with or is it just the type of insurance I chose?

Thanks for your help

2. Remove Advertisements
    BCSportBikes.com
    Advertisements

Been there, Wrecked that! Array CrashTested's Avatar
    Bike
    - unknown
    Welcome to BCSB damn you newbies with your double posting!

You have to pay PST on the declared value/what you paid when you register it.

ICBC - government insurance, unless you meet all the requirements for private insurance. DO a search it has been covered many times.
    Last edited by CrashTested; 01-02-2006 at 09:25 AM. Reason: PST not GST... oops
    There are old bikers, and there are bold bikers, but there are no old, bold bikers.
    BCSB Member #XXXX

2 Wheeled History:
    '02 F4i (RIP, damn guardrail)

'87 TZR 250 (piston ate itself)
    '99 SV650s (RIP, damn Jeep)
    '79 250XR
    '81 500XT

Bike
    Quote Originally Posted by CrashTested
    Welcome to BCSB damn you newbies with your double posting! You have to pay GST on the declared value/what you paid when you register it.
    wow, that was a fast response. Sorry about the double posting

Bike
    Rhubarbed.....RIP GPZ