Ok, some help doing a stand up wheelie

Thread: Ok, some help doing a stand up wheelie

Ok, some help doing a stand up wheelie

I want to learn how to stand up wheelie.

Problem is, I am alittle nervous doing this. I am not really sure which way would be better/easier to learn

I am guessing doing this in 2nd gear would be better cause 1st gear is alittle agressive, or am I wrong on this?

Should I be standing up first or as the front wheel comes up?

2. Remove Advertisements

tiz Red.
    Im still pretty new at this, but Ill try to offer some advice from a fellow newbie stand point.

What I've found is stand up, get into second gear and get into the rpm range that has alot of tourqe. From a steady speed, (about 60 for me)roll on the throttle and bounce the front end. I dont mean jump on the damn thing, just bounce lightly. You will feel the fron start to come up.. as you feel the fromt come up, roll on harder. dont worry, its not scary at all. I found it to be actually quite easy. Oh yeah, no clutch. try it, you will be surprised how stable it acctually feels. I thought I was going to be thrown off the back or somthing. Let us know how it goes....
    Last edited by spink; 09-07-2002 at 05:19 PM.
    BCSB- Moderator

be standing up b4 u start it, cbr 954 should b no trouble bringen it up in second, just press down on front forks than pull up and lean back as its coming up, cover rear brake, they np kinda scary when u first learn em though cause u way up off tha road

ok. stand up first. I have seen guys do em and they stand as the bike comes up and that seems alot harder to keep steady.

I've tryed once or twice before doing stand ups and my body moves around from the acceleration. (big guy)

Yeah, I am getting pretty decent at 2nd gear wheelies, the pipe helps alot. I can bring the bike up at around 100-120km and hold it all the way into the red at 12 grand at 179km/h