need some fairing repairs...
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: need some fairing repairs...

New chain...Soo smooth... Array Black Sunshine's Avatar

need some fairing repairs...

I know I should 'seach' the forums for more info in this, but I am pissed off and have to vent a little bit...

Coming home from work, taking the 'backroads' through Chilliwack doing about a buck twenty, open road, no traffic, and all of the sudden a farm cat comes racing across the street at full-stride....

Perfect timing - I hit the cat square, and it felt like a speedbump - I thought was going down, but a big head shake, and it cleared up, and I kept going....

Wow - cool, dodged a bullet there...Fricken stoopid farm cats...

I get home to check the bike out, and I find the belly fairing is damaged...

I've never done fairing repairs before... Does this look like an easy fix? Or should I be looking on Ebay for something, or finding some used parts?

Tune-up Tip: If you can't fix it with a hammer, then you must have an electrical problem.

2. Remove Advertisements

Step 1 fiberglass the inside This process is the build up
    Step 2 after the insides good and solid now Build up the outside so its somewhat flush
    Step 3 after so many rounds of building it up sand it down so its flush with a powersander and 40-50-60 grit

Step 4 After its close to being flush looking good add bondo or gelcoat finish filler and then sand again with 200-400 grits and then carry on to higher ones 600-1000-3000 and so on..

Step 5 prime and sand fill etc depends upon what it looks like
    Step 6 prime again and sand when it looks close to the ready to put your paint on get the match of your lower plastics "blue" and then test your rattle can spray bomb strokes on something so you don't make runs and then try it on your plastics.
    Step 7 sand and paint again
    Step 8 color sand and paint again
    Step 9 clearcoat?????