Tall riders need bikes too!

Thread: Tall riders need bikes too!

Tall riders need bikes too!

Hey I'm new to the sport bike game. Umm...well I just bought a 1994 Yamaha Seca II for $200. No keys, but I did get a title. It's not stolen. I had to hot wire it to get it to run. The frame is cut up and I need another bike. I am 6'7" and about 230lbs. I want a 600cc starting out. What bike should I get and what modifications should I have done to the bike. I have a friend who is 5'2" and he needed his R6 lowered. Please help me with this situation. I rode my friend's GSXR 600cc, but I was getting cramps in my hip because my knees were almost as high as the top of the gas tank. Like I said before, I just need some help with this situation. Thanks guys!

2. Remove Advertisements

Registered User Array Commuter Boy's Avatar
    Suzuki Bandit
    Buell Ulysses. You won't need any modifications size wise.

Kawasaki Land Rover and a liter-twin
    The short answer is that sport bikes weren't made for someone of your height. So so you either suffer or try making small mods like getting helibars etc.

Enduros may be a much better fit.

a noob who can't ride Array weitaro's Avatar
    scrap metal

Thanks for that... Array Miguel's Avatar
    Yea, well. I don't know you're bigger than my obviously. But I am riding a 600RR cramped bike. And I am about 6'5". You just make it work really.

I found a 98 Honda CBR F3 for $5000. The banks for the loan say its not worth more than $3110. Its so expensive because it has 4200 miles on it. Would it be a pretty good bike for myself?

Registered User Array
    SP 125..02 f4i
    I wouldnt do it..its oviously been sitting most of its life try finding somthing a bit newer with a few more miles on it for the same price

Lower Mainland
    I feel your pain. I am 6'4" 250 and understand what you are going to go through buying bikes.

I ride a fair bit and have a great deal of experience in getting bikes to fit.

Here is how it will be for you