Vancouver to Calgary trip advice

Thread: Vancouver to Calgary trip advice

Registered User Array
    Bike
    Kawasaki ZX7R 1998

Vancouver to Calgary trip advice

Hi,

I am new to this forum but looking for advice. Myself and a friend are coming over from the UK next July and plan on hiring bikes to travel from Vancouver to Calgary. Monday to Saturday, 5 night trip.

Will probably hire a Harley from "eaglerider.com" as they have one way drop off's but only seem to do Harleys, also I reckon if I'm on that side of the pond it would be rude not to use a Harley. (Still got to decide which one though as I have no experience of them).

What I need to find out is the best route for this journey? We would like to do a day fishing en-route and I wouldnt mind doing a spot of mountain biking (not full on downhill as I dont bounce anymore).

After Calgary, I'm hiring an RV for 10 days with the family to go around the Rockies so its not important to see everything on the bike trip. Plus i'll have a few days in Vancouver itself.

Any suggestions?

Cheers
    Neil

2. Remove Advertisements
    BCSportBikes.com
    Advertisements

Bike
    2001 ZX12R .................... 2005 ST1300A
    not sure about fishing but this would be a decent ride to Calgary

https://goo.gl/maps/9uDZLgJgboQ2
    < spell chequer is totally bustimacated >

Bike
    '09 Ducati M696
    Stretching a drive to Calgary into 5 days would be an impressive feat. That's a one-day-er, really....two if you get adventurous. I'd sooner go south, do some riding across Washington, Idaho, Montana, then head up to Calgary on the 5th day.

5. Remove Advertisements
    BCSportBikes.com
    Advertisements

Been there, Wrecked that! Array CrashTested's Avatar
    Bike
    - unknown
    BC Sportbikes, not Half Assed Harleys .

That said, a 5 day trip could be stretched out to cover a lot of highway(s) and make for a great trip.
    There are old bikers, and there are bold bikers, but there are no old, bold bikers.