Old Rider Looking to start some track Days

Thread: Old Rider Looking to start some track Days

Registered User Array SliderZ33's Avatar
    Bike
    2004 Kawasaki ZX10R

Old Rider Looking to start some track Days

Let me start off with, I have been riding for around 16 years and have loved every second of it. I now have the itch to ride on a track as riding on the street is not the same and there is a lot of fear of tickets etc lol. I have a few questions about how to get started and the best approach to doing so as budget I am sure is going to be an issue.

I am well equipped with gear so I am ok in that area. So my first question is: would buying a Ninja 250 or a CBR 125 be a good way to start on the track to learn and practice with? I want to keep the costs way down for a track bike if possible and just wast sure if this would be a good starting point.
    What is a good starter for track as I don't want to put my bike I ride on the street in the dirt lol.

My plan is to do a WMRC Race School and go that route to get myself going and do some private lessons as well if budget allows.
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    Last edited by SliderZ33; 11-10-2019 at 09:11 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    BCSportBikes.com
    Advertisements

Bike
    2013 CB1000RA
    as a first step, I'd suggest just riding your current bike. ( a) it's plenty fast - in fact, much faster than you'll be able to manage initially on track, and (b) you're familiar with it. it is a SERIOUS challenge to get anywhere near competent on a track: learning the layout, the lines, the braking points, body positioning, etc, etc. plus you'll be attacking corners in ways and at speeds that you'd never, ever consider on the street. adding 'learning a bike' into the mix is not trivial.