BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
JMFN
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The numbers all seem the same with the exception of the pro link. Is it possible? Welding required? It's not for racing so I'm not overly concerned with the fine points, besides the 03 has better wheel, brakes, tire, sproket and shock not to mention looks way cooler. so those are the pros, what are the cons? Forgive me if I'm being retarded, this is my first build, just want to know if I should loose any sleep or just forget about it.

·
back on the street
1,832 Posts
I know you can almost bolt on a 600rr swingarm to a F4 or F4i, so it might be possible, also check out the 100rr swingarm, since they are both big bore bikes the dimensions might be closer, check out [url]www.cbrworld.net [/URL]...they have a tutorial for installing the RR swingarm on an F4i

F

·
0 Posts
your gonna have a tricky problem becasue the rr swingarm is made to use the engine as a mounting point for the arm ,the cbr 900 doesnt ,,but that not that big of a deal ,,you'll need to weld a tube to the inside of the RR swingarm so it mimicks the cbr 900 mounting design.I would pop out the cbr 600rr bearings and make sure you can get the inner sleeve from the cbr 900 swingarm in to the new tube you have just welded in so the pivot axle isnt floating around aimlessly .
Jusy cut the inside tube from your cbr 900 swingarm so you know its going to work .Then if the RR swingarm is more narrow or smaller ,,a tiny bit wider is ok ,,but only a tiny bit ,then you may need shims to center it .If the RR swingarm is wider you may have to machine the inside of the cbr 900 so it fits ,,but you run in to lots of other difficulties then as far as bearings and the adjustments.You may also have to weld a boss to accept the lower linkages and dog bones from the RR to the cbr 900 frame ,,,,not sure id have to look