BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Mmm...beer
2,144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys...looking for your opinions on something. I'm currently looking at purchasing an 03 Gixxer 750, its been meticulously kept and maintained...but its got 24,xxx kms on it. Should I be concerned or wary of anything? He's asking $7,700 for it. Thanks everyone.

·
Registered
1,248 Posts
that kind of mileage is insignificant. It being meticulously maintained is much more important, and how it's been ridden.

·
Mmm...beer
2,144 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
savagebovine said:
that kind of mileage is insignificant. It being meticulously maintained is much more important, and how it's been ridden.
Thats what I was thinking as well. I am new to motorcycles, but a long time automotive guy. Like cars, I guess it all comes down to maintenance intervals and overal treatment of the bike. Any other comments, keep 'em coming.

·
Registered
580 Posts
I have 30 000km on a 03 f4i and runs very strong, no problems. Only major replacements were the chain/sprockets and tires. I change the oil(filter every other) @ 4k.
Take a look at how clean/lubed the chain is, it may give you a general indication of how well a person maintains their bike

·
Mmm...beer
2,144 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Such a n00b, I forgot I posted in that thread. Thanks Doug.

·
Registered
2,887 Posts
i have 72,000km on my 954 and it still stands up quicker than my dick used to in my 20's (although it kinda burns a little oil)

·
Old Dirty Bastard
1,650 Posts
24K is nothing if the bike is well maintained. Beware the bike that has really really low mileage for its age 'cause it has probably been sitting for long periods and that's not good for motorcycles!

·
Premium Member
7,666 Posts
Buy a fuckin bike already Craig! For goodness sakes, it's less than eight grand you're talking about.

...of course, if you were to take my advice this is not the bike you would be buying. But whatever.