BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i was practicing my clutch ups tonight.. and after an hour or so my clutch started slipping..
so at first i thought i just over heated it and figured id go home and let it cool off..

well i took my bike out now and anytime i roll on hard it totally slips..

did it burn out my clutch from learning to cluch it up?

·
rain? whats that!
5,834 Posts
how many kms on bike?

If its a 99, odds are good you did just that.

One of the stunters should have a definite answer to this.

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yeah i got about 17 or so on the bike.. and since im just learning to clutch it i am always fighting myself to not ride the clutch...

ok so ive never gone into my bike yet.. whats involved in a clutch swap?

is it just the friction plates that go? i think its finally time to get a manual for it

·
damn broken leg!!!!!!!
1,610 Posts
First time around for a clutch you can usually get away with frictions and just cleaning/scuffing the steels. The correct way would be new steels, frictions and new springs.

·
Registered
819 Posts
They can check the tension on the springs to see if they need replacing.

I've never replaced metal clutch plates. Replace the fibers, check the spring tension and away you go. Unless the metal plates are scored or deformed in shape they're fine.

Clutches can/will last a long time until you start to abuse them. Then they go away really quick.

·
Registered
8,785 Posts
try adjusting the cable where it mounts to the engine or it might have an adjuster on the cable. Adjust it until you have a bit of slack at the lever. The little roller adjuster at the clutch should be moved all the way back before you do this.

If you take it apart check the steels for warpage, just pinch 2 together in one spot then flip one over and pinch again. If they spread apart there warped. If there OK then

Fork out $105 for new fibres.

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #7