BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Go CANUCKS GO!
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1st of all thanks for this site "bcsportbikers":rockon
I'm new to sportbikes, the last bikes I owned were old Kawi KZ's 550's an 1980 and a 1981. I also had a 1984 Maxim 400, was cheep and missed riding.
So I am looking to get another used bike, but stepping it up a notch and I would like to hear some opinions from "you-all"...
bikes from 1998 - 2003
GSXR 600 or 750...
CBR 600
Yamaha R6

I like the styles, they all look great, so tough choice for me lol
so my stats...5'6" 180lbs and I've had my class6 for about 14 years.
I'm trying to stay at or under 750cc to keep the insurance costs lower.
I like to ride in town, but not downtown, and mostly will use this for baseball next year I play games all over the lower-mainland from Chilliwack to Delta, and oh ya the highway cruzes for few hours at a time...:) Thanks for your time...Sk8

·
Swivel on it
11,659 Posts
If you want highway comfort as well as sports performance etc, the CBR600 F4i just freakin rules. Hasn't been updated in a few years, and 2006 is the last year for them, but it's a seriously good bike, and great for someone just starting back again. Really quick, really stable and forgiving. I use my 2006 to commute everyday and it's been solid as a rock.

·
Been there, Wrecked that!
2,221 Posts
1. Welcome to BCSB :flip
2. SV650s :rockon

·
Registered
107 Posts
I started on a 99 gsx-r 750. im 19,5'8 and 135?pounds(soo not a big guy at all). with dirtbike experience growing up. The 96-99 750, 97-00 600 gsxr's I feel most comfortable with of anything i've ridden. ridden abit on 2001 gsx-r1000....:devillook, 2004 cbr600rr, 2001 gsx-r600, 1999 gsx-r750, 97 gsx-r600.
Most of that is riding on slippery,wet, roads in moutainous areas. Or highway straight stretches.
Haven't ridden a f4i or r6, but hope to one day.
Go sit on abunch and stare at them for hours, start them up...if you haven't already. gdluck

·