BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

Help! R1 won't start

35K views 25 replies 9 participants last post by  MikeToronto 
#1 ·
hey guys so i got an 08 R1 and the bike won't start. battery is charged... duno if it's a sensor thing or what but sometimes it starts sometimes not .. just turns over and over but doesn't fire.. any tips :D?

#3 ·
nice i just got the bodywork done and its the same paint scheme as your avitar.. well the battery is charged but it is a salvage bike that i'm trying to get on the road and i'm not a mechanic. when i 1st got the bike it would fire and then sometimes it wouldn't the engine light is on as well, i just did oil on it and gas i duno there are probably busted senors somewhere? i just don't why it was fire and now it's not at all? it tries turning over but then nothing.

#10 ·
It looks daunting, but it's easy.

Key off, kill switch "on". Hold both dash buttons (select and reset), turn key on, wait 8-10 seconds. "diag" should appear. Hold both buttons again (2 seconds) and you should a different menu pop up with #'s. If I remember right select scrolls forward through sections, reset scrolls backwards through sections. On the R6, I believe 'section' 60/61 shows fault codes, if any are active, they will blink and show what codes are present. Look up the code in the manual to see what its problem is. The R1 may also use a different section to list codes.

Look for the diagnostics mode/fault code table in the manual, it takes a bit of reading to decipher, but gets clearer quickly. Hopefully this helps you and isn't sending you on a goose chase.

#12 ·
A fully charged battery doesn't always mean the battery has sufficient cranking ability. As it's such an easy thing to check out, I'd recommend taking the battery to a battery shop/dealer (Not Canadian Tire -an actual dealer would do better) and have the battery load tested. Could be as easy as a worn out battery...

#15 · (Edited)