2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I am a novice rider
and lucked out to pick up a used Ducati Monster 695 2007 model for
a cheap price... THEN
last summer i wrecked it while riding in VancouverIsland
and due to time constraints with work schedules
and financial issues I didn't get a chance to take it to the shop.
The minor cosmetic damage my friend and I managed to
fix or replace with aftermarket parts
But... the real problem lies in the engine noise.
It's off, and sounds nasty, a metallic spinning noise
that gets worse with acceleration.

I have it at John Valk Ducati right now, and after the initial
1hr check they couldn't find out what was wrong.
SO, i gave them the go ahead to check it out for 2 more hours.
Today I called to find out that they have it up on a lift
and they are telling me they have no idea what is wrong
and feel that they will need more than 2 more hours to find out
the problem, which will most definitely require opening the engine.

Now i'm thinking... the problem was obviously within the engine
as the sound was unmisakeably COMING from the engine, not to mention
their initial response that the sound grew worse with acceleration.

This seems to me that they have a rough idea of where to go to find the problem yet they are telling me they will need more time to work on it?

I mean I don't know much about engines and repairs, but I feel like i'm being lead around --- plus the biggest problem is, I can't afford to pay for the repairs with the labor costs being so high... 3 hours is pretty much the max
hours i could invest, and they've gone and blown it just to tell me they need to open the engine and get in there??

Is there another private mechanic i could take it to?
Do any of you have any experience/knowledge of how mechanics-John Valk Ducati or not-work?

I appreciate any advice or tips you could offer...

I just want to get back out on the road...

Thanks.

·
Twin A
8,019 Posts
It's a shop and I recommend them as well.