BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone!

I need to ship my bike one-way to L.A. Does anyone know the most affordable company? I have a friend moving to L.A at the same time. Do any companies offer discounts if there is more than one bike? As it is for a move, there is no rush on the date. I have never done this before so any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you!

·
Registered
265 Posts
I usually go to sumas to pick up stuff I buy off ebay and have seen a few motorcycle only transport trucks. I don't remember their name but they did nation wide. A quick google search there are quite a few that can.

http://www.motorcycleshippers.com/

Their quote is just over $1000 from BC to Ca, but under $600 from Wa to Ca. Are you moving there permanently? I don't know the procedure for motorcycles but importing a car into the US is more difficult than exporting from the US.

·
Registered
265 Posts
I just remembered that there was a fellow named Mark with a CBR500 or 400 that he bought and imported from Japan. He originally looked at having it on a ship but found that he could just crate it up and have it sent in the cargo bay of the airliner he was flying. Not exactly check-in luggage and I don't remember what he said the shipping costs was but I surprised that it was about the same as on a ship.

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
I shipped a bike to Ottawa a couple of years ago - a lot further than LA, and it cost about $360. I crated it and sent it on Candain Freightways. It might be cheapest if you have the time etc to put it in a crate and take it to Lynden or Bellingham and send it on a commercial carrier like them. I found the guys who advertise they will ship your bike uncrated on their special pallets are pretty pricey. I belong to the AMA which gives a discount from the likes of Federal Compnaies (FunTransport.com or 877 518 7376) USA internal only so you'd have to take it across the border.

·
+1