BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,013 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New Bike Day

For the past 6 years i've ridden and loved my Tuono. I put 53 000 mostly troublefree KM on it across 17 states. It was a blast to ride, sharp as a knife, and put a smile on my face every single time I rode it. But needs change, or perhaps evolve. I love riding fast windy roads, and getting out exploring, a lot of exploring (note previous 17 states statement). Where the Tuono didnt perfectly fit my needs were in its KM range (good, not great), and its comfort for long days in the saddle. The bike itself was comfy for me, but the high peg position takes it toll over a long day.

The criteria for a new bike was something hopefully as fun, invigorating, and high performance as the Tuono. But it needed to be more comfortable on long days, have better provisions for luggage, more window protection, and I really wanted something with a great TFT screen (I work in tech, and I am a nerd at heart).

This meant there were 3 candidates in my eyes.
1. Ducati Multistrada S
2. KTM Super Duke GT
3. BMW S1000XR

There are other bikes that fit my criteria, like the Kawasaki H2 SX SE, but i just couldnt get over it's aesthetics. I also dont need a bike that will comfortably and easily cruise at go to jail speeds.

I almost bought the Multistrada S last fall, but when I looked at the dash (non TFT), the fit and finish of the cock pit/dash area, and the incredibly high price of replacement parts (like a radiator), I decided to walk away.

I know two people with KTM Super Duke GT, and they both love them. One is a 2017 and the other a 2nd gen 2019. The 2019 was definitely a contender.

The 3rd bike was the BMW S1000XR. I almost bought a 1st gen in 2017, but passed due to the short gearing, and the engine vibration buzz. The 2020 was announced last fall, and it appeared to check every box for me.