BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to the forum and I'm new to sport bikes as well, so I don't really know much about them, I was thinking of getting a bike next summer and thought I'd do my research on them now.

I just have a few questions..
First of all, how are sport bikes on gas efficiency anyways?? say compared to a civic or something?
And how do insurance costs compare as well??

Last thing would be what kind of bike would you guys recomend for someone whos never even rode a bike before, would a ZX-6R or YZF600R be a good choice?

Any input would be greatly appreciated, thanks a lot:)

·
Registered
1,147 Posts
Those two bikes you just named are awesome bikes to begin with.

Honda F2 to 4's, SV-650's, and for the under 600cc's, a Kawasaki EX-500.

About the Gas mileage.
I usually 36-42 Mpg on an old bike.
25 buck in a civic will get me 400-500km's
25 bucks will get me about 550-600 km's (That's about 3 fillups though) and more if I do alot of easy highway riding.

Insurance, oh boy. I pay as much as my civic per month for motorcycle insurance.

·
Premium Member
11,195 Posts
Cool, I get to be first.... :D

:flip WELCOME ABOARD :flip <-----standard greeting in case you didn't know.

Mileage wise they are a little better than a civic but bear in mind they make as much power as the car and you can't get the power out without the gas going in. But just so you're not dissapointed they accelerate MUCH faster than anything you've ever been in that has 4 wheels.

These bikes would not be my first suggestion. The both have much too much plastic for a first timer. The odds are that you're gonna have an oopsie in a parking lot or just pushing it around. Better to have something without so much plastic..... or at least be prepared to pay the piper.