BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Posting for the first time and new to sportbike. I am wondering if there's riders who learn and ride strictly on the track. I have a little experience with high performance driving in the past but just cars. I am still very new to the two wheels machine and would like to eventually take up high performance riding on the track. I am very worry about riding a bike on the street because of all the unsafe drivers on there. I guess my question is, is it possible to learn the art of perfomance riding strictly by taking courses and riding just on the track?

Thanks,
Shane

·
Premium Member
7,666 Posts
I would still suggest doing some street riding, and taking a school before going straight to the track. I think it's important to learn the 'real world' and slow speed stuff prior to getting to the funner stuff of trackriding.

...that being said, one of my friends did a bunch of days at Boundary Bay on my super-moto before he ever did a street-riding school. But the two of us use to go dirtbiking together, so I knew he could handle it without slowing the group down too much.

·
Got Hammer?
5,552 Posts
It is possible but I don't recommend it. There's plenty of kids that start out on GP's (not here) years before they'd ever be alowed on a street bike so it can be done. I'd suggest some kind of bike experience before you try sportbike racing as it would be hazardous to go out there and try to learn the very basics of riding a bike on a road course. As Harps said, dirtbikes are a great introduction. It can be done strictly on the road bikes but going through a school would be the sane option.

·
Banned
1,946 Posts
Unless you are rich and can rent the track for yourself, there is no way to get enough seat time to get good. And you could go to all the trackdays you can (there are enough in Ca & Nevada to ride at least once a week) , but even in the slow group you'd be a hazzard for a long time.

·