BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
904 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't come by here as often as I used to and thought I had posted this before so please forgive me if this is a repeat.

I've been riding the DLL for about 25 years now and am pretty sick of it. The worst part is getting in an out of Vancouver via Hope or Whistler. There are a few other roads that you can ride when you're out for the day that some of you have undoubtedly ridden but many other perhaps not. These can easily be ridden as part of a day ride.

On the way east to Hope, I normally take Golden Ears Bridge ( there are 2 exits that will get you onto the bridge ). More recently I have stayed on Hwy 1 to Exit 73 which is the 264th St exit. Take the cloverleaf north and then once over Hwy 1, turn right on 56th Street / Harris Road. It's a sometimes busy but pleasant ride that gets you almost to Mission.

Most of you probably take Hwy 7 from Mission to Hope but it's worth pointing out for those who may be new to the route.

Princeton to Merritt on Hwy 5A is pretty and not too heavily traveled.

Merritt to Kamloops also on 5A is much the same and avoids the Coq.

Merritt to Logan Lake on 97C is becoming more and more part of my day rides. Scenic, light traffic, easy to pass.

Not much in Logan Lake except gas. If you are hungry, go to the strip mall; you have to get into the center area and you will find a really nice little family run cafe.

Logan Lake north to Savona. Commonly called the Tunkwa Lake Road. I can't find a Hwy number for this. Very lightly traveled. This is a beautiful road although the southern 1/3 is a little rough. Make a point to ride this.

Logan Lake to Ashcroft on 97C is another road worth riding.

I found an old post from 2018 in the Ride Reports section on Hwy 12 between Lillooet and Lytton. I hadn't ridden that in 15 years but according to the report, it was resurfaced in 2018.