BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
302 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought an 03 ninja zx-6r, this is my first bike. I bought it for a very good price and im planning on storing it this weekend

1)Any tips on where to get a bike cover for a decent price?

2) How hard is it to change the oil on a bike and what type of oil should i buy?
Also how much will oil and a filter cost me?

3) I need a new front tire, where should i start looking?

4) Since im storing the bike, which type of fuel stabalizer should i buy?

Im new to all of this, be nice to me
Any other tips will be a bonus
thanx guys

·
Newbie Poser Squid
2,709 Posts
1. Yellow Pages under 'motorcycle parts & accessories'
2. Select Search and type in "oil change", "oil type"
3. Yellow Pages under 'motorcycle parts & accessories'
4. Select Search and type in "fuel stabilizer"

Or you can call Bill at 5th Gear on Tuesday and he'll have all your answers. Again, use Search or the Yellow Pages.

·
Registered
193 Posts
have fun staring at that all winter while its snowing out. if it was my first bike id end up sitting on it and reving the piss outta it all winter.:rockon

·
Premium Member
11,196 Posts
First off congrats on the new toy! She's a looker fer sure! But she's also a serious racing bike with lights so go super easy. It's like you're a new driver and someone just gave you the key to that Formula 1 car over there.

As for your questions I suggest a few site searches or just general browsing through old threads for lots of background answers to these and other questions you have to go along with the info you'll get here.

Oil and filter is about $40 depending on what oil you get.

Any cover intended for a sportbike is fine. The ones for cruisers are too bulky. Check that it has a soft inner liner where it rests on the windscreen. And it should have a little raised vent on the top. Lots of them on sale in the shops just now. I know BK has a mountain of them by Brian's desk.