BC Sport Bikes Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Having a debate with the chaps at work, the scenario:

I'm selling my motorbike, its not insured. Lets suppose a potential buyer test rides the bike on the street. I have notified him/her that the bike is not insured. The num-nut mows down a bystander or causes harm to others. Am I liable?

Discuss please.

·
Registered
1,335 Posts
I'd imagine you're liable but I'm no lawyer. I'd guess they go after the owner of the vehicle.

·
Swivel on it
11,659 Posts
Most likely. If they want to test ride, they can put a day plate on using their licence, and give you the full amount in cash as a deposit.

·
Pottymouths luv hooligans
102 Posts
Don't dealers usually take like a photocopy of your license...for scenarios like this?

If someone were to test ride your bike, the sensible thing is jot his info down too.

·
Super Moderator
23,557 Posts
Having a debate with the chaps at work, the scenario:

I'm selling my motorbike, its not insured. Lets suppose a potential buyer test rides the bike on the street. I have notified him/her that the bike is not insured. The num-nut mows down a bystander or causes harm to others. Am I liable?

Discuss please.
I'm not sure if you'd be liable by law, but I do know you'd be an idiot in need of a check up from the neck up.

·
Unregistered rider
963 Posts