BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Formerly FURY
2,731 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone think of any extra maintence I should consider when I do occasional track days? For example; frequency of fluid changes, bearings, break pads. I'm on a stock SVS with new D207s being broken in.

·
Premium Member
11,195 Posts
You'll have to keep an eye on things but all in all you really won't have to do much.

Just clean and lube the chain both before and after and figure that a track day is the equivalent of 1000 kms on the oil and change it accordingly.

Other than that I'd make it a habit to go over all the critical bolts before a track day just to be sure they stay on.

And depending on the rules you may have to change over the coolant to water or water wetter instead of antifreeze.

F

·
0 Posts
I not a guy with a bunch of track experience, but I am a mech engineer, so regarding the antifreeze to water change, you really should do it as water has much better heat transfer properties than antifreeze, so this change should keep your bike from getting to hot even in spirited track riding. If you do it though make sure to use distilled water. You can get it at any grocery store.

F

·
0 Posts
thefury said:
what area of mech. engineering are you involved with?
I work for Duke Energy (formerly Westcoast Energy) doing compressor station/gas processing plant design and construction management work. It's a pretty good job and I get to play with 30,000hp jet engines/gas turbines.

D

·
0 Posts
Flag R6 said:
so regarding the antifreeze to water change, you really should do it as water has much better heat transfer properties than antifreeze, so this change should keep your bike from getting to hot even in spirited track riding. If you do it though make sure to use distilled water. You can get it at any grocery store.
Would this be of any use for everyday city riding?

Dafnip

F

·
0 Posts
Dafnip said:

Would this be of any use for everyday city riding?

Dafnip