BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wasnt sure where to post this, so admins, feel free to move.

So I was asked by my sis to house/apartment sit for her while she goes on vacation.

I decide instead of bringing my car to her place, just to ride since I'll be able to use her car while im watching her apartment.
I go thru the underground parking which requires either using a card key or grabbing a ticket to enter.
I grab a ticket b/c im too lazy to pull out the keycard.

anyways, several hours later, I need to go run some errands and I decide to ride b/c its such nice weather.
this is my first time using a parkade key while on a bike, so I think it thru before setting off.
Ive attached the keycard and parkade remote to a lanyard which im hanging from my neck. That way, I only need to open up my jacket to acess everything. I figure the lanyard is long enuf to just pull out, lean towards the sensor, gate opens, im good to go.

anyways, I gear up, hop on the bike and head towards the exit gate.
Its one of those yellow lifting gates, which is pretty much alike a 2x4 piece of wood/metal/plastic that lifts up when u pay/swipe ur card.
I zip up my jacket, put the bike in gear and slowly turn on some throttle and exit the parkade, when I notice THE FRAKKING GATE STARTING TO COME DOWN ON MY HEAD!
I try to keep my cool and resist the urge to stop, but instead maintain my speed and duck my head all the way down via tucking in.

I didn’t even get a chance to see if my bike triggered a sensor when crossing the gate line thus causing the gate to go back up, or whether it was my quick tuck in manouver that prevented me from getting decapitated (or at least needing to buy a new helmet)

Has this ever happened to anyone else?
Tips? Tricks?

·
This space for rent
2,099 Posts