BC Sport Bikes Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts
K

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so, I'm a noob to riding, and I'm trying to do everything the don't-get-killed way. I've already got my first bike, an '83 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim, which is nicely forgiving, and has plenty of poop. As much as I love it, though, it doesn't satisfy my itch for a 600cc or bigger supersport.

I know they're not for "beginners"... the question is, when IS it okay to move up?

*puts away the can opener*

·
Fuelled by rice
4,467 Posts
whenever you feel ready. The newer 600's are pretty fast now. I rode my 600 for 12 yrs before moving up to a bigger bike.

·
Premium Member
20 Posts
Your 650cc Maxim has no poop compared to a new 600. A new 600 is probably 4x faster, literally.

With that said, Derbi says whenever you're ready.. and that's the right answer.

·
Registered
2,590 Posts
Khalnath,

1) List the ways your present bike is lacking
2) Have you tried a new 600?
3) How much time have you spent on your present bike?
4) What do you expect to be able to do on a new 600, that you cannot do on your present bike?

·
contradiction incarnate
2,748 Posts
I think that getting an older 600 is a nice way to ease yourself into what it would be like to have one of the newer ones.

I like the idea of getting really comfortable on something very similar, but just less extreme.

The older 600's are great for that. You'll get similar seating position, braking, handling, and acceleration characteristics, but when you move up to the "latest and greatest" it'll just be the same stuff "kicked up a notch".

·
Banned
1,946 Posts
Yawn.

A better question would be: "when is it OK to add nitrous to a superbike?".

K

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I won't beat around the bush, the primary reason is aesthetics. Performance wise, I have no complaints about my bike. It's a little ratty, though.

I know 600s have lots more power than my Maxim. My 650 has enough... but more is better. ;)