BC Sport Bikes Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Kelvin Fun Lee
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year on a bike and I wanted some advice on storing and maintenance for my '04 Honda CB599F3 (carborated engine) for the winter.

I have been told to drain the carbs and to keep the battery charged but what else can you recommend?

Also, I have to do an oil change soon but should I do it now before storage or at the beginning of the next season?

Thank You,

Kelvin

·
gix4life
152 Posts
Myself and other ppl are gonna tell you to use the search feature here cause this topic is done to death, but i'll tell you its a good idea to change oil before and after storge.

·
rain? whats that!
5,834 Posts
New oil will not 'break down' during winter storage. Change it now and be done with it.

If you leave old oil in the bike, the acids might over time cause internal corrosion problems.

·
Mmm...beer
2,144 Posts
Change the oil BEFORE storing it.

·
n00b
704 Posts
Ok, so I have done the search a bunch of times and have been thoroughly reading this topic. I know that people say to change oil and filter before storage (put in crappy cheap oil) then change just the oil again after storage with good oil. Now my question is, if I change my oil and filter at the end of the season (for me) with good oil, can I not just continue to use that oil after storage in the next season? Will that honestly cause any damage?

·
Gear Driven Cams
4,411 Posts
Ok, so I have done the search a bunch of times and have been thoroughly reading this topic. I know that people say to change oil and filter before storage (put in crappy cheap oil) then change just the oil again after storage with good oil. Now my question is, if I change my oil and filter at the end of the season (for me) with good oil, can I not just continue to use that oil after storage in the next season? Will that honestly cause any damage?